EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

James E. "Jimmy" Lambert

PRESIDENT

Sheriff Jay Jones Lee County

FIRST VICE PRESIDENT

Sheriff Shannon Oliver Franklin County

SECOND VICE PRESIDENT

Sheriff Donald Valenza Houston County

SECRETARY

Sheriff Matthew Wade Calhoun County

TREASURER

Sheriff Billy Murray St. Clair County

SERGEANT-AT-ARMS

Sheriff Heath Jackson Escambia County

DISTRICT 1 DIRECTOR

Sheriff Phil Sims Marshall County

DISTRICT 2 DIRECTOR

Sheriff Billy Jones Perry County

DISTRICT 3 DIRECTOR

Sheriff Matt Gentry Cullman County

DISTRICT 4 DIRECTOR

Sheriff Jeff Shaver Cherokee County

DISTRICT 5 DIRECTOR

Sheriff Heath Taylor Russell County

DISTRICT 6 DIRECTOR

Sheriff Tom Boatwright Monroe County

DISTRICT 7 DIRECTOR

Sheriff Tony Helms Geneva County



ALABAMA SHERIFFS ASSOCIATION 514 WASHINGTON AVENUE MONTGOMERY, AL 36104-4385

OFFICE (334) 264-7827 FAX (334) 269-5588 EMAIL ALSHERIFFS@AOL.COM WEBSITE ALABAMASHERIFFS.COM

PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Monday - February 6, 2023

Contact:

Jimmy Lambert Executive Director 334.264.7827

Sheriff Jay Jones President 334.749.5651

In response to the Governor's press release this morning, the Alabama Sheriffs Association wishes to thank Governor Ivey and the members of the Alabama Legislature for creating this grant program to partially fill the substantial void in our funding created by the passage of the permitless carry bill last year.

We look forward to working with the Governor and Alabama's leaders in the upcoming legislative session to ensure that these funds are permanently allocated and sufficient to restore our ability to fulfill our sworn duty to protect and serve all of Alabama's citizens.

Jimmy Lambert
Executive Director

Alabama Sheriffs Association